top of page

Tis the Season... to be Jolly?

As the holidays are swiftly approaching, I can't help but think about how grateful I am for life itself. However, with the season changing, it hasn't all been just warm feelings... I went to a friend the other day for advice because I wasn't feeling good about myself; you know those days where you feel ugly, or your jeans don't fit like they used to, or you cannot, for the life of you take "the right" selfie. Or, on a deeper note, those nights where you're up late when you shouldn't be, thinking about things that you shouldn't be, sad about the things that you wouldn't be (shoutout to Kehlani). My friend told me that this is the time of the year that depression kicks in the most for lots of people. "Think about it, you have shorter days and longer nights, the sun isn't out as much..." he said, and it makes perfect sense. So I did my research on seasonal depression because I refuse to let it get me down. 2017 has been one hell of a year for me and I'm going into the next year kicking and swinging!

So here are some of the things I found out:

-Seasonal Affective Disorder (or SAD-and it's no coincidence that the acronym spells sad) is a form of depression that happens at the same time every year.

-it's more common in women, and some of the symptoms are:

*sleeping more but still feeling tired

*having trouble concentrating

*lost of interest in usual activities

*weight gain, etc.

So friends, what do we do about this problem? There are a few things that doctors say work like medication, counseling, and light therapy... But let me tell y'all what's been working for me instead.

YOGA: For me, along with all of the known benefits (increased flexibility, improved cardio and circulatory health, improved respiration, energy, and vitality, etc.), getting up most mornings, or in the afternoon in the event I couldn't wake up (I have to be at work at 7:00 every morning) teaches me discipline, offers me peace, and gives me time to love on myself and to pay attention to parts of my body that don't get much love. In this world, I had to find my NAMASTE and I suggest y'all go and find y'all's.

MEDITATION: Alone time to sit (lye, or stand) in your honesty and not judge your thoughts. A safe haven to let your mind run freely. It brings an indescribable feeling of serenity and helps me to clarify situations I've been on the fence about.

WORKING OUT: Setting goals and killing them makes you feel good about yourself. Seeing the results, is reward enough. The first and hardest step is showing up.

LOVE: Self love, your significant other's love, your family's love, your friends' love, even doing the things you love. Surrounding myself with love has been the best medicine. Spend your time and energy with the people who care about you and confide in them when you need to. Don't take them for granted. The people you love, tell them you love them, and often. People rarely get their flowers while they can still smell them.

I hope these things can help someone as much as they've helped me. Depression and Seasonal Affective Disorder are two very real diseases that come hard and can make things extremely difficult (for the person experiencing it and their loved ones). Thanksgiving is around the corner and I have way too much to be grateful about to indulge in my negative feelings and thoughts. So here's to life and to finishing the year out strong. We've got this. And from Me and Mine, wishing You and Yours the Happiest of Holidays!

Peace & Love,

Lorian


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page